Doves & Beads

Since I started baking korovayi eight years ago, I noticed different trends. A few years back, it was all about silk flower adornments. Then “patychky” resembling fir branches became popular korovai toppers. Over the last couple of years, I noticed a surge in elaborate baked-on decorations that elegantly drape over the bread. This year saw a return to simplicity: many of my orders were single-tier korovayi with fewer adornments. While it’s safe to say that I am excited by each new korovai order (even if it means repeating the same design), I was thrilled to receive an order for a two-tier beaded creation.

I have a soft spot for symmetry and repetition, and this particular design requested by the mother of the bride was delightful. The starting point was a single-tier korovai design I made in the past: it had a beaded eternity band coupled with alternating male and female doves encircling the bread. I love how this feature appears twice on the top and bottom layers.

I am happy that this korovai made it to Calgary without a glitch. I am even more happy that the circumstances allowed family and loved ones to partake in a memorable celebration this summer! May the newlyweds be blessed with love and joy – Многая Літа!

Two-tier korovai with doves and beaded eternity band
Two-tier korovai with beaded eternity band and doves

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑