All Jazzed Up

I really enjoy making korovayi during summer holidays at the cottage. The pace here is slower, the kids are outside all day (which means I am not interrupted as much), and I have a moment to myself to savour the bread-making day. I mix and knead the dough in the morning, it rests and rises during the day, I shape the korovai loaves in the afternoon while the kids nap, and the breads go into the oven after dinner. As the wonderful aroma fills the home, I leisurely work on my korovai decorations before I wind down for the day.

Something else I really enjoy while in the countryside: taking long walks. I am amazed by all the wildflowers in the fields – there are so many different kinds! And while they blend into the pastures from afar, each one is so intricately beautiful in itself. During one Sunday afternoon walk, I gathered some flowers and made a wreath for this korovai. This design with doves and roses turned out popular this year, so it’s nice to showcase it in a different way. I love how the bright colours pop against the grey of the stone background!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑