Voloshky

I finally got around to growing voloshky (волошки) in my garden this year. In English, this native European wildflower is called cornflower because it often grows as a weed in cornfields, including fields of wheat, barley, rye and oats. Just like kalyna (guelder rose), barvinok (periwinkle), poppies and sunflowers, voloshky are an integral part of the Ukrainian ethos, featured in songs, poetry, embroidery, pysanky and other artforms. They symbolize purity, holiness, tenderness, beauty and a young man’s love. I was looking forward to planting this wildflower in my garden because it looks lovely in flower arrangements, makes beautiful dried flowers, and also because I could use the pretty blue flowerheads to decorate korovayi 🙂

Back in early spring between lockdowns, I was thrilled to find cornflower seeds at my local nursery. I started them indoors under grow lights, lost a few seedlings due to overwatering, transplant shock and hungry rabbits, but the plants that survived grew strong. Despite a few setbacks, I was rewarded with masses of beautiful blue wispy flowers in my garden.

This large 14″ korovai was ordered for the end of June, just as the cornflower buds started opening. I could hardly wait to harvest the few open flowers at the time, but that little pop of blue is just enough to draw the eye to the two lovebirds in the centre.

May the young couple’s love be blessed with purity, holiness, tenderness and beauty. Mnohaya Lita!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑